Thread breaks.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thread breaks.

I'm new to this form, please bear with me. Last night I had thread breaks every few stitches. First I should start with I Just purchased a 06 XT. As to the thread breaks every few stitches. I was on auto actifeed. I switched to standard, and adjusted until
    it seemed to sew better, but not very good. Then it started to give me bobbin thread breaks every few stitches. Finally I Disabled bobbin thread, and it finished sewing the 70,000 stitches with only 2 top thread breaks. I also should say I'm using up my thread from my Happy (Rapos Thread). Is there anything special I should look at?

Please sign a name so we know who we are addressing
    There are many things we need to know:
    1. What type of fabric are you sewing on?
    2. What type of backing are you using?
    3. Is the garment and stabilizer or fabric hooped good and taut?
    4. What type and size needle are you using?
    5. Are they inserted the right direction with groove down the front and little indention or scarf to the back?
    6. If you were to look with a magnifying glass, is the groove straight forward or 5-10 degrees to the right and ABSOLUTELY not to the left?
    7. How high is your presser foot?
    8. What size cones of thread are you using--if 1,000 meter, are you using the coaster under them?
    9. Is there a chance that the thread is wrapped around the spindle anywhere?
    10. Are the cones tall? Are the thread tubes pushed all the way up so that they are approximately 1/2 inch above the top of the cone?
    11. Is the machine properly lubricated and oiled?
    12. Are you using sticky spray (if so, try not to)?
    13. What speed are you sewing at?
    14. What design are you sewing--who digitized it?
    15. Is the bobbin inserted correctly?
    16. Have you taken a corner of a sheet of paper and cleaned under the leaf spring on the bobbin to make sure there is no wax or lint there?