Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wanna help a newbie? (Digitizing & backing tips)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanna help a newbie? (Digitizing & backing tips)

Hi all! I am still learning the business and will be heading to training soon, but in the mean time I have work to do.

I have a logo that I digitized, but I am not real happy with its sew out. IMHO, its a bit complex, but I did digitize it myself, not using the auto-digitizer. My problem may not be the design but may be the material/hooping I am doing, as it sews out with few/if any breaks.

The logo is a "3D" building with a plumb-bob and lettering. My issues with the sew-out is that not everything lines up as shown and some puckering. I am sewing it onto a 100% cotton knit and have been experimenting with many different backings and hooping techniques.

What is the recommended hooping/backing/topping for a pocket logo on a 100% cotton knit shirt?

I have tried 2oz cut-away, 2oz cutaway & 2 oz tearaway, 2oz cutaway using spray adhesive to hold in place and tried with and without solvy topping. I also tried hooping fairly tight and fairly loose. Any best practices on this type of layout for hooping tension and backing/topping? Any specific machine settings I should really look at?

If anyone has a little time and wants to check over the digitizing (this is what I am really still learning) you can get the file here:

http://www.juneforever.com/images/TCI_Logo_Pocket.ofm

Thanks for any feedback you can give.
    June & Marty<br />JuneForever<br />Custom Apparel and Gifts<br /><br />443-904-5060<br />[email protected]<br /><br />Marty\'s email: [email protected]