Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thread & Bobbin

Hi Everyone,

I am new to AMAYA but old to embroidery. I have recently purchased 4 used AMAYAs and am having a ton of thread breaks when using the King Star Polyester thread I've used fine for 9 years on my Barudan. Have purchased enough of it for the 4 heads. But, now can't sew 2 minutes without thread breaks. My question is what brand of thread & bobbin do you use with your AMAYA's? Also, I see where I can select the thread on the OS; does anyone know what King Star would closest resemble?

Thanks for your help!
    I'm Desperate!!!!
    Terry
    Sew Fine Embroidery<br />Martin, GA<br />706-889-2848

I use Gunold & have very little breakage. I do not know king star??? have you tried to increase your material thickness? The thread over the AMAYA plate should not be too tight, you should be able to slip your finger behind the thread as it is running.
    Good Luck,
    Jack & Gretchen Peckham<br />Greyt Threads Embroidery<br />Idyllhounds, Recycling to Rescue Racers<br />Greyhound Rescue

Comment

I purchased my first Amaya (new) when they first came out. I had nothing but thread breaks. Finally I had a tech come out and he worked on my machine almost all day making various adjustments. Improved thread break problem big time. I eventually traded in that machine for the new XT and purchased a second one. I personally do not think thread brand has that much bearing on thread breaks unless it is rayon. Thread breaks is usally a sign of a maintance issue. Since you bought them used, I would have a technician come out and check them out. By the way, where did you get the King Star? I also have some but don't know where to buy.
      Good luck!
      Barbara

Comment

I have not used King Star thread but if that thread worked fine on your Barudan, then that would suggest your thread breaking problems are a machine issue, not thread.